Maryland Car Insurance Laws
Liability coverage provides for your legal defense if a lawsuit is brought against you as a result of a covered accident. As a resident of Maryland, there are two types of liability coverage your insurance policy must include: property damage and bodily injury.
maryland car insurance laws
This type of Maryland auto insurance coverage is used to repair your vehicle when physical damage occurs from non-collision related incidents (subject to deductible). Such incidents include theft, fire, vandalism, glass breakage, and contact with animals.
This insurance may cover reasonable and necessary medical expenses or funerals for you and others who are covered under your policy in an accident, regardless of who is at fault, up to the amount you choose.
Need car insurance in Maryland? Whether you live in the Eastern Shore or Baltimore, Liberty Mutual Insurance has you covered. From liability protection to comprehensive coverage, we customize your Maryland auto insurance, so you only pay for what you need.
The average cost of car insurance in Maryland is $1,3052 in 2021 according to thezebra.com. That's 15% lower than the national average. Of course, your auto insurance cost will depend on many different factors including your age, where you live, and your driving history.
The chart above shows the minimum Maryland auto insurance you need. But depending on your budget and needs, you might want to consider increased coverage for more protection. We'll help you customize your Maryland car insurance to get the coverage that fits you. See all of our auto coverage options.
Liberty Mutual understands that everyone has individual needs when it comes to their Maryland auto insurance. Some might want the cheapest Maryland car insurance, while others want more coverage and an auto insurance company they know they can trust. Let us help you customize your Maryland car insurance, so you only pay for what you need.
In most states, including Maryland, liability insurance is a mandatory requirement. This covers any injury or property damage sustained by a third party if you cause an accident. In Maryland, mandatory liability limits are 30/60/15, which means you need a minimum of $30,000 coverage per person for injuries with up to $60,000 total per accident for all involved and $15,000 for property damage.
Car insurance costs in Maryland depend on several factors including your age, ZIP code, credit score, driving history, the make and model of your car and more. Also, costs will vary between different car insurance providers in Maryland.
The cheapest minimum car insurance in Maryland is from USAA with an average annual cost of $673. However, USAA policies are only for current and former military members and their families. The most affordable option available for most people is Erie, with an average cost of $926 per year.
MoneyGeek analyzed car insurance rates in Maryland based on the state minimum limits of 30/60/15 for a sample driver profile of a 40-year old male driver with good credit and a clean driving record, driving a 2010 Toyota Camry.
If you want to lease a car in Maryland, it is crucial to fully understand your leasing terms so that you know the minimum insurance requirements of your leasing company, which usually exceed the state minimum insurance requirements. In Maryland, most leasing companies are likely to require full coverage insurance with at least 100/300/50 liability coverage.
If you are not sure how much car insurance you need in Maryland, MoneyGeek recommends a full coverage policy with a minimum of 50/100/50 liability limits. Maryland has a relatively moderate risk of uninsured motorists at 14.1% of all drivers. A full coverage policy is the best way to protect yourself financially if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. This way, you are covered for bodily injuries and property damage.
If you drive without insurance in Maryland, you can be exposed to various fines and penalties. In Maryland, you are required to carry proof of insurance at all times and present that proof to law enforcement officers whenever asked.
Car insurance is mandatory in Maryland. State laws require all drivers to carry vehicle insurance with minimum liability coverage of 30/60/15 in Maryland. Failure to obtain insurance or display proof of insurance can result in fines, penalties and even jail time.
Basic car insurance in Maryland indicates the minimum insurance requirements mandated by the state law. This includes 30/60/15 liability coverage. This is the minimum coverage you need to legally drive in the state.
Car insurance usually follows the car and not the driver in Maryland. This usually includes liability insurance, property damage insurance and most other forms of coverage you might purchase. PIP and Medpay, however, follow the driver.
It is not mandatory to have a license to purchase car insurance in Maryland. However, it is likely that most insurance providers will insist on a license. You can have an easier time getting car insurance without a license if you list another driver with a valid license.
A CARCO inspection is carried out pre-insurance to ascertain the condition of a car. It assesses several factors like the physical condition of the car, the distance traveled and the accessories. There are no added fees for this inspection. Maryland is not among the states that require a CARCO inspection
Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content director at MoneyGeek with over five years of experience analyzing the insurance market, conducting original research and creating content that can be personalized for every buyer. He has been quoted on insurance topics in several publications, including CNBC, NBC News and Mashable.
First, a preliminary disclaimer. This article is longer than usual, but deals with some important changes in the law. Please read all the way through. Every situation is different, and this article should not be construed as legal advice. With regards to new insurance products, please contact your insurance agent for the best advise for your situation. If you been in a Maryland car accident, please contact us.
So, ask your insurance carrier or agent about new Enhanced UIM, and if you have enough insurance coverage to protect yourself and your loved ones. Enhanced UIM is only available on policies written or renewed on or after July 1, 2018.
There are two reasons why you should selfishly carry far more insurance than the minimum policy limits in Maryland. The first reason for taking just the minimum coverage is foolish is obvious. You might get in an accident that is your fault, and the value of the claim could exceed your policy limits.
One of two things can happen when this happens, and they are both bad for you. First, the victim can get a verdict against you that exceeds your insurance limits. In this case, the victim can go after your assets and future wages and otherwise make your life miserable.
But the risk of personal exposure pales in comparison to this more critical risk: the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover your loss. Like the second scenario above, your insurance company does step in under this scenario, if your insurance coverage is higher than the person who caused your injuries. (On most policies your uninsured motorist coverage mirrors your liability coverage so if you have, for example, a $300,000 policy limit for your negligence, that would be the same policy limit for your uninsured motorist coverage.)
What is most frustrating for victims in these cases is just how little it would have cost to get the coverage that would have provided more protection. In most cases, you can dramatically increase your coverage limits for less than $100 a year. Remember that most people have much less insurance coverage than they think they do.
I understand that submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship. I also understand that Miller & Zois works with multiple law firms on these claims and that I may be contacted by an affiliated law firm working with Miller & Zois on these lawsuits.
No, you do not need rental car insurance in Maryland. As is the case in most states, rental car companies in Maryland provide the minimum state-required liability insurance coverage as a part of their basic contract. Specifically, they provide $30,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($60,000 accident) and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident. Maryland generally requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance and personal injury protection (PIP), too, but you can legally drive a rental car without this additional coverage.
For example, you can purchase a collision damage waiver, which provides coverage comparable to collision and comprehensive insurance. This type of coverage may even apply automatically if you pay for your rental with the right credit card. You can also purchase supplemental coverage that adds to the existing liability and medical payments limits from your personal policy.
Rental car liability insurance is coverage that pays for injuries or property damage that you cause in an accident when you are driving a rental car. Rental car liability insurance does not protect you or your rental car from collision damage, car theft, loss of personal effects, or injuries. 041b061a72